Australia Travelogue – Day 6 – Travelling to Pebbly Beach, and ANIMALS

Left Canberra in the morning. I forgot to mention that part of the reason we were there was to visit another one of C’s cousins and his family. I was so jet-lagged that I barely got to see them, which was too bad because I’ve heard many good things. They were very sweet as I stumbled zombie-like around their house, and patient with me in my befuddled state.

We were thinking of going to see the War Memorial but decided we didn’t really have time, so we headed out in the early afternoon.

2015-04-16 12.08.54 Australia - Travel 2015-04-16 12.26.25 Australia - Travel

The trip was nice. We drove through a lot of farmland, which meant I saw a lot of sheep and cows and things.

2015-04-16 14.06.05 Australia - Travel

We crested a mountain and drove back down on this incredibly steep, squiggly road. The drop-off was right beside the road, and a very, very long way down. Every so often, there were these raised ramp things (I didn’t get a picture, but you can see an example on this blog) so that if your brakes fail partway through, you can just gain speed while you swing around several sharp curves, cut across 3 lanes of traffic at full speed, and hopefully roll to a stop before you fall off the mountain. The really scary part is that there were several tire track marks in the sand bed. It was pretty intense, but C got us down just fine.

2015-04-16 14.39.41 Australia

We stopped to buy groceries in a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. We went to a cute fish shop and bought oysters and prawns (I also wandered off to look at carpets and shoes in the two adjoining shops when the fishy smell got too much for me) and then to a pretty standard grocery store.

2015-04-16 17.05.31 Australia - Pebbly Beach 2015-04-16 17.06.59 Australia - Pebbly Beach2015-04-16 17.07.07 Australia - Pebbly Beach

Pebbly beach was amazing, right from the start. There were approximately a billion kangaroos, and they tended to just hang out on the lawn out back of our cabin and chill. During the entire time I was there, I can’t recall ever seeing fewer than 6 or seven kangaroos out back at a time, and usually there was way more.

2015-04-16 17.14.19 Australia - Pebbly Beach

Wood fire barbeque! c toasted marshmallows after dinner, but we weren’t sure if they were gf so I just vicariously enjoyed watching her eat them.

Later on, a fuzzy visitor appeared and acted veeery interested in the marshmallows.

2015-04-16 21.34.36 Australia

“Give them to me.”

2015-04-16 21.37.16 Australia

Someone ran inside and grabbed me a few pieces of bread from the loaf of sourdough we bought…

2015-04-16 21.41.46 Australia

And I made a new friend! ❤

2015-04-16 21.51.20 Australia 2015-04-16 21.56.56 Australia

What do you think? Leave a comment.

